Do NOT ‘fake it until you make it’

The old saying “Fake it untl you make it” is particularly useful when self-confidence is called for

However, it has caused some problems – Lots of people with jobs they are not qualified for. Sometimes they persist indefinitely, just doing the job bad, and nobody cares, or can do anything about it. Maybe that is the life you want, I dunno.

My advice: Do NOT say and do anything to get a higher paying job, then just assume you can figure it out once you get the job. While it’s often quite true, it’s still a no-no in my book. Anyone can learn SQL, for instance, but if I see SQL listed on a resume, I expect them to be able to write me a basic set query on the spot (or close).

Look, you know yourself. You know what you are capable of. You know if you could rise to fill the responsibilities of position X, or if you’d have troubles. Trust in your instinct. Maybe it’s true. Only you know.

Believe me when I say we all have something to offer this world and you’ll know when you find that perfect ‘professional match’.

Do NOT ‘fake it until you make it’

Leave a Reply

